Mark Chellew

Independent Non-Executive Director since 1 March 2013 and was appointed Chairman on 30 September 2016.

Mark is a Non-Executive Director of Infigen Energy Limited (since September 2017), Virgin Australia Holdings Limited (since January 2018) and Caltex Australia Limited (since April 2018). Formerly the Executive Chairman of Manufacturing Australia Limited (retired September 2017) and the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Adelaide Brighton Limited (retired May 2014).

Mark has over 40 years of experience in the building materials and related industries, including roles such as Managing Director of Blue Circle Cement in the United Kingdom and senior management positions within the CSR group of companies in Australia and the United Kingdom.

He holds a Bachelor of Science (Ceramic Engineering), Masters of Engineering (Mechanical Engineering) and a Graduate Diploma in Management.

Vik Bansal

Vik joined Cleanaway as Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director in August 2015.

With over 20 years’ experience in a range of executive roles in Australia, Asia and the United States, he has a proven track record of leading industrial organisations through significant growth, transition and improvement.

Vik was previously President and Chief Operating Officer of Valmont Industries Inc. – a US$3.3 billion NYSE listed global engineering and manufacturing company based out of Omaha, Nebraska USA. Prior to that he was Group President of the Global Engineered Infrastructure Products segment of Valmont Inc. and Group President Asia Pacific.

Vik has also held senior line leadership positions with One Steel Limited and Eaton Corporation.

He holds a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering with Honours, an MBA, and has completed the Advanced Management Program at INSEAD.

Vik is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of Engineers Australia.

He is a founding board member of the National Waste and Recycling Industry Council (NWRIC).

Ray Smith

Independent Non‑Executive Director since 1 April 2011.

Ray is currently a Non‑Executive Director of K&S Corporation Ltd (since February 2008). Formerly, he was Non‑Executive Director of Crowe Horwath Australasia Limited (resigned January 2015) and Warrnambool Cheese and Butter Factory Company Holdings Limited (resigned May 2014) and Trustee of the Melbourne and Olympic Parks Trust (retired November 2016).

Ray has significant corporate and financial experience in the areas of strategy, acquisitions, treasury and capital raisings, and was Chief Financial Officer of Smorgon Steel Limited Group for 11 years.

He holds tertiary qualifications in Commerce. He is a Fellow of CPA Australia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mike Harding

Independent Non-Executive Director since 1 March 2013.

Mike is the Chairman of Downer EDI Limited (since November 2010), Lynas Corporation Ltd (since January 2015) and Horizon Oil Limited (since November 2018).

Formerly Chairman of Roc Oil Company Limited (resigned December 2014) and Non-Executive Director of Santos Limited (resigned May 2014).

Mike has significant experience within industrial businesses, having previously held management positions around the world with British Petroleum (BP), including President and General Manager of BP Exploration Australia.

He holds a Masters in Science, majoring in Mechanical Engineering.

Terry Sinclair

Independent Non-Executive Director since 1 April 2012.

Terry is a Non-Executive Director of Ovato Limited (effective October 2017) and is also a Director of a number of private companies including Zoom2U as well as Chairman of GMDx Group. Formerly, he was the Chairman of Marrakech Road Pty Limited, Managing Director of Service Stream Limited, Chairman of AUX Investments (jointly owned by Qantas and Australia Post), Director of Sai Cheng Logistics (China), Director of Asia Pacific Alliance (HK) and Head of Corporate Development at Australia Post.

He also provides M&A advisory services to private equity and government clients. Terry has significant experience across Industrial, Resources and Consumer Services sectors including 20 years in senior management roles in BHP (Minerals, Steel and Transport/Logistics).

Emma Stein

Independent Non-Executive Director since 1 August 2011.

Emma is a Non-Executive Director of Alumina Limited (since February 2011), Infigen Energy Limited (since September 2017) and Adelaide Brighton Limited (since October 2019).

Formerly, a Non-Executive Director of DUET Group (resigned May 2017) and Programmed Maintenance Services Ltd (resigned October 2017). Emma has significant corporate experience within industrial markets and was the UK Managing Director for French utility Gaz de France’s energy retailing operations.

She holds tertiary qualifications in Science and a Masters of Business Administration (MBA). She is an Honorary Fellow of the University of Western Sydney and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Philippe Etienne

Independent Non-Executive Director since 29 May 2014.

Philippe is a Non-Executive Director of Lynas Corporation Limited (since January 2015) and Aristocrat Leisure Limited (since 1 October 2019).

Formerly, the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Innovia Security Pty Ltd (retired September 2014) and Non-Executive Director of Sedgman Limited (February 2015 to November 2015).

Philippe has held a range of other senior executive positions with Orica in Australia, the USA and Germany, including strategy and planning and responsibility for synergy delivery of large-scale acquisitions.

He holds a Bachelor of Science in Physiology and Pharmacology and a Master of Business Administration (MBA). A Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has completed post-graduate qualifications in marketing.

Samantha Hogg

Samantha is a Non-Executive Director of MaxiTRANS Industries Limited (since April 2016), Australian Renewable Energy Agency (since April 2018) and Infrastructure Australia (since April 2019).

Samantha is an experienced executive with international experience across the transport, infrastructure, energy and resources sectors. She has held senior executive positions at Transurban Group and Western Mining Company across a broad range of portfolios including finance, strategic projects, marketing and corporate services. Her most recent executive role was as the Chief Financial Officer of Transurban Group.

Samantha holds a Bachelor of Commerce and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Brendan Gill

Brendan joined Cleanaway in September 2014. Brendan has more than 35 years of experience as a finance professional, mainly in the mining, steel and energy sectors. His career includes 26 years at BHP in finance, including as Vice President Finance Carbon Steel, CFO for both the Stainless Steel Materials and Nickel businesses and Global Lead Risk Management & Audit. Since leaving BHP, Brendan has held CFO roles, most recently as CFO for Inova Resources (previously named Ivanhoe Australia).

Brendan has a Bachelor of Business, is a member of CPA Australia and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mark Crawford

Mark joined Cleanaway as Executive General Manager, Enterprise Services in February 2014 and was appointed Executive General Manager, Solid Waste Services in August 2017.

Mark has more than 15 years operational experience gained in senior and executive roles. He has worked across Australia and Asia Pacific to integrate complex business models and has extensive transformation experience across all business disciplines.

Prior to joining Cleanaway, Mark held a number of general management roles at Australia Post, most recently as General Manager for the International business. Mark holds qualifications in Information Technology.